top of page

Reality of being a Canadian Author


Being an author nowadays is much different than even five years ago. With the rise of self-publishing, traditionally published authors and small presses are having a harder and harder time staying competitive.

A self-published author can put their work up for free, put an entire box set up for 0.99, and put their works on Kindle Unlimited so it can be read for free and hopefully purchased later. This is awesome for readers as it give them more access to books without having to illegally download them. It’s not so great for publishers and traditionally published authors. It creates an unrealistic ideology that books aren’t actually worth money, even when there’s huge investments made by the publisher and sometimes hundreds of hours put into it by the author.

There are some fantastic self-published authors out there. I’ve found many that are permanently on my own reading list, but then there are also a lot that aren’t quite ready to be published, but do it anyway. Wading through the millions of books available out there would be impossible for anyone, so people rely on social media, recommendations and reviews to help them find a great new read.

Book signings are being held all over the US, Facebook pages are popping up on a daily basis and authors are banding together to create super-groups for fans so they can cross-promote. All brilliant and amazing ideas for readers, but for a lot of authors it’s just not feasible.

I’m traditionally published. My books are priced in the $5-$8 range. I’m moving into self-publishing as well, and those I will be pricing lower at $0-$3. Hopefully it will help someone find my work and maybe it will entice them to keep reading if they like it. I hope to continue being a hybrid author, but being Canadian is making it impossible to network and get my name out there.

We don’t have book signings or conventions here. As a Canadian author I’m not actually allowed to go to any of the US conventions unless I’m sponsored by a US author (at least the ones I’ve looked into, hopefully I’ll find one someday). Then there’s the issue of cost. For me to fly to the US, stay in a hotel and attend a singing would cost me more than double, even triple what it costs US authors thanks to the cost of cross-border travel and the exchange rate. Plus, I have a family so picking up and jetting around isn’t really an option for me.

Did I start writing to become famous? Absolutely not.

I started writing because it’s my passion. I started publishing because it was my dream. I’m honestly not looking for fame (I’m actually quite shy in real life). What I am hoping for is to be able to make this a viable career, and break even. Will I ever make enough money to sustain my family? Nope, not unless the stars align and I somehow write a bestseller. Will I ever be able to go out and meet readers and network and support and have the support of other authors? Most likely not.

Being a Canadian is awesome. I’m incredibly proud of my country and I love being able to say that I am Canadian. Unfortunately my country of birth makes it extremely difficult for people to break into the entertainment industry. For every Shania Twain or Margaret Atwood, there are thousands of equally talented people who will never get their big break (now, I’m not comparing myself to Margaret Atwood, just using her as an example of world-wide literary notoriety).

It’s a hard thing to reconcile with, but it is what it is. I will continue to keep writing and publishing for as long as I can. I have so many stories to tell. Here’s hoping I get a chance to put them out to the world and not just file them away in a crowded writing folder on my laptop.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page