top of page

My newest project, born out of ignorance

I had an interesting conversation with someone the other day. And by interesting, I mean aggravating.

I write erotica and erotic romance. My stories are by an adult, for other adults, and they tend to be on the edgy and spicy side. I read every kind of romance out there from YA and Amish to hardcore BDSM that can make even me blush, but I write about things that aren’t usually found in the mainstream.

My first book was about a trio of college-age best friends who fall in love and start a polyamorous relationship. My second was about a young woman’s sexual awakening as she is taught the ways of kink and pleasure by a dominant man. The sequel to that book is coming out tomorrow, and it explores their emotional journey as they test their physical and mental limits.

In August I have a contemporary new adult romance coming out. It’s spicy and littered with sex, but it’s more a story of a couple’s journey to (hopefully) find each other. It’s considered ‘mainstream’, and I left out the vulgar words and terms that make some people blush. It was something I wanted to try, to branch away from erotica and write something that my friends who aren’t so down with the kink could read.

Word has gotten out around where I live that I’m an author, and people are also talking about what I write. Not everyone, of course, but enough that it can be both awesome and annoying to have people ask me about it. Usually people say that they could never write what I do, or don’t enjoy reading it. Some make sure to tell me that they think it’s not proper, and others are super supportive.

The woman I talked to a few days ago took things to a level I’d never expected to have to deal with face-to-face.

She blasted me and my work. I was a bit stunned by her anger and rage, and didn’t catch everything she said, but ‘rape culture’ ‘disgusting’ ‘misogynist’ ‘freak’ ‘deviant’ and ‘part of the problem’ all rang loud and true as she ranted.

Then she went too far.

She said I wasn’t fit to be a mother and she hoped my little one was taken from me because someone who thinks like I do, writes what I do, is sick and will only pervert a child. She told me to keep my ‘wild sex parties’ out of her neighborhood, and even wondered if my husband knew that I was a freak trying to seduce every man I laid eyes on.

In reality, I’m passive-aggressive and an introvert. I don’t deal with confrontation well, and I really don’t deal with getting called out by crazy bitches in the middle of the freaking park while my little one is playing.

I left, nearly in tears from rage and my inability to fight back, and went home. I still don’t understand where the visceral hatred towards me came from, but I wished I’d been able to rip her a new one, the same as she did me.

The only good thing that came from the encounter is that I’ve decided to step things up and write something that she would consider beyond sick.

So I’m pleased to announce The Kink Files, an anthology of 5 short stories, each featuring a different kink fantasy. They’re raw, to the point and get more and more extreme as the stories go.

After The Kink Files will come another anthology called The sub Files, and then one called The Femme Files (working title, that one might change). The first will be all about submission and feature both Doms and Dommes, and the second will be about women owning their sexuality and having the night of their lives—no themes and no ties except hot and wild sex with hot and passionate men.

So I guess I have to say thank you to the random woman who berated me in a children’s park. Without you I never would have decided to just say fuck it and write the darkest, most sensual fantasies I could think of.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page